The Australian Florin Coin Watch

The Australian florin coin features the coat of arms of Australia, officially called the Commonwealth Coat of Arms –  the formal symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia.

A shield, depicting symbols of Australia’s six states, is held up by the native Australian animals the kangaroo and the emu. The seven-pointed Commonwealth Star surmounting the crest also represents the states and territories, while floral emblems appear below the shield.

The original Coat of Arms was designed by William Henry James Blakemore (1871 – 1945), an English engraver, and medallist at the Royal Mint London. This was included on the florin from 1910 until 1936.

In 1938, the design was replaced by the current Coat of Arms. The re-design of the coin was undertaken by George Kruger Gray (1880 – 1943).

Weighing 11.31 grams, from 1910 until 1945, the florin was made from 92.5% silver and 7.5% copper. From 1946 until 1963 the silver content was decreased and the composition was 50.00% silver, 40.00% copper, 5.00% nickel, and 5.00% zinc.

Florin Watches and Jewellery by Coinwatch

The Australian florin coin is 28.5mm in diameter so the watch sizing will reflect this.

A genuine florin coin is featured as the dial face on our Coinwatch items and in most cases is available in your selection of years from 1910* through to 1963. The florin was not minted in 1929, 1930, 1937, 1939, 1948, 1949, 1950 and 1955.

For years where the coin was not minted and from 1964 to the present, a commemorative coin is featured on the dial.

Showing all 15 results