The Australian Sixpence Coin Watch

The Australian sixpence coin features the coat of arms of Australia, officially called the Commonwealth Coat of Arms –  the formal symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia.

A shield, depicting symbols of Australia’s six states, is held up by the native Australian animals the kangaroo and the emu. The seven-pointed Commonwealth Star surmounting the crest also represents the states and territories, while floral emblems appear below the shield.

The Coat of Arms was designed by William Henry James Blakemore (1871 – 1945), an English engraver, and medallist at the Royal Mint London.

The first arms were authorised by King Edward VII on 7 May 1908. A subsequent (current) version was authorised by King George V on 19 September 1912. However the sixpence coin continued to use the 1908 version of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms.

Weighing 2.82 grams, from 1910 until 1945, the sixpence was made from 92.5% silver and 7.5% copper. From 1946 until 1963 the silver content was decreased and the composition was 50.00% silver, 40.00% copper, 5.00% nickel, and 5.00% zinc.

Sixpence Watches and Jewellery by Coinwatch

The Australian sixpence coin is 19.0mm in diameter so the watch sizing will reflect this.

A genuine sixpence coin is featured as the dial face on our Coinwatch items and in most cases is available in your selection of years from 1910* through to 1963.  The sixpence was not minted in 1913, 1915, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1947 and 1949.

For years where the coin was not minted and from 1964 to the present, a commemorative coin is featured on the dial.

Showing all 16 results